The 80th Tata Steel Chess 2018 is taking place in the Netherlands on January 12-28. The tournament has two main player groups, each with 14 players.  

Tata Steel Masters: Magnus Carlsen (Norway, 2834), Fabiano Caruana (USA, 2811), Shakhriyar Mamedyarov (Azerbaijan, 2804), Wesley So (USA, 2792), Vladimir Kramnik (Russia, 2787), Peter Svidler (Russia, 2768), Viswanathan Anand (India, 2767), Sergey Karjakin (Russia, 2753), Anish Giri (Netherlands, 2752), Wei Yi (China, 2743), Maxim Matlakov (Russia, 2718), Hou Yifan (China, 2680), Baskaran Adhiban (India, 2655), Gawain Jones (England, 2640). 

Tata Steel Challengers: Santosh Gujrathi Vidit (India, 2718), Bassem Amin (Egypt, 2693), Michal Krasenkow (Poland, 2671), Anton Korobov (Ukraine, 2652), Matthias Bluebaum (Germany, 2640), Erwin L'Ami (Netherlands, 2634), Jeffery Xiong (USA, 2634), Jorden Van Foreest (Netherlands 2629), Dmitry Gordievsky (Russia, 2622), Benjamin Bok (Netherlands, 2607), Aryan Tari (Norway, 2599), Dronavalli Harika (India, 2497), Olga Girya (Russia, 2489), Lucas Van Foreest (Netherlands, 2481).

Time control: is 100 minutes for 40 moves followed by 50 minutes for 20 moves, then 15 minutes for the rest of the game, with a 30-second increment per move from move 1. If two or more players tie for first place then a rapid or blitz playoff will be held, though the monetary prizes will be shared evenly. 

Scedule: January 13-16, 18-21, 23, 24, and 26-28. Free days: January 17, 22, and 25. Rounds 5 and 10 of Tata Steel Masters will be played in Hilversum and Groningen respectively.

The games start at 3:30 p.m., rounds 5 and 10 begin at 4 p.m., while the final round starts at 2 p.m. (Moscow time).

Official website