The World Team Championships will take place in Astana, Kazakhstan, on March 5-14. Both tournaments are round-robin events in which 10 teams will play. Team composition: 4 players and 1 reserve. 


Men: Russia, China, England, Kazakhstan, USA, India, Iran, Sweden, Azerbaijan, Egypt.

Women: Russia, China, Georgia, Kazakhstan, Armenia, India, Ukraine, USA, Hungary, Egypt.

Russian teams' composition: 

Men: Sergey Karjakin, Ian Nepomniachtchi, Alexander Grischuk, Dmitry Andreikin, and Vladislav Artemiev. Captain is Alexander Motylev.

Women: Kateryna Lagno, Alexandra Kosteniuk, Valentina Gunina, Aleksandra Goryachkina, and Olga Girya will play for the Russian team. Captain is Sergei Rublevsky. 

Each match will be scored by match points as it is used in the FIDE Olympiad. Winner will get 2 points, a draw will give each team 1 point, and a loss is scored as 0 points. If any teams finish with equal game points, the tie shall be resolved as follows:

1. Board points in total; 2. Direct encounter; 3. Berger system; 4. Berlin System.

Time control: 90 minutes for 40 moves, 30 minutes to the end, and 30 seconds increment per move starting from move 1.

The match days: May 5-9 and 11-14. Free day is March 10. 

Official website