The Russian Cup competitions among men and women consist of regional tournaments (open and women’s), which have a status of the Russian Cup stages, and final tournaments – for men and women separately. Regulations of the stages are developed by regional chess federations and agreed with the Chess Federation of Russia. 

Sportsmen have a right to play in an unlimited number of the Russian Cup stages during the year. 

Cup points, scored by participants in all stages, are summed up. Cup points are awarded only to participants who have Russian citizenship or to those who have a temporary registration in one of the Russian regions (except Moscow and Saint Petersburg) not later that January 1 of the current year. 

14 best participants of the men's Russian Cup stages and 7 best participants of the women's Russian Cup stages qualify for the final competitions.

The final tournaments of the Russian Cup are knockout events with 16 participants in the men's section and 8 participants in the women's section. Two nominees from the Organizer are added to the men’s tournament, by agreement with the CFR. One Organizer's nominee is added to the women's event, by agreement with the CFR.  

Tournament Calendar 2020


1. Moscow Open, January 23 – February 3, Moscow

2. Aeroflot Open, February 18–29, Moscow

3. 42nd R. Nezhmetdinov Memorial, May 30 - June 9, Kazan

4. A. Alekhine Memorial, June 11-22, Voronezh

5. L. Polugaevsky Memorial, July 9-19, Samara

6. EURASIA OPEN, July 19-30, Yekaterinburg 

7. V. Korchnoi Memorial, August 21-28, Saint Petersburg

8. A. Panchenko Memorial, September 6-16, Chelyabinsk

9. M. Chigorin Memorial, October 23 - November 2, Saint Petersburg
10. 15th Ugra Governor’s Cup, November 16-26, Khanty-Mansiysk

11. Russian Cup Final, December 10-19, Khanty-Mansiysk


1. Moscow Open, January 23 – February 3, Moscow 

2. A. Panchenko Memorial, September 6-16, Chelyabinsk

3. Satka Autumn, September 16-26, Satka

4. Russian Women’s Cup Final, December 10-17, Khanty-Mansiysk