15 May 2015

Pavel Ponkratov becomes Russian Rapid Champion

Karina Ambartsumova wins the women's championship.

Russian Rapid Championships ended in St. Petersburg. Grandmaster Pavel Ponkratov (Urals) won the men's championship with 8/11, and surpassed Farrukh Amonatov (Tajikistan) and Ernesto Inarkiev (Moscow) on tie-break. 

Karina Ambartsumova (Moscow) won the women's championship with 9 points in 11 games. Ekaterina Ubiennykh finished second with 8.5 points. Alexandra Goryachkina took the third place with 8 points, surpassing Anastasia Bodnaruk on tie-break. 

Russian Blitz Championships are played on May 15.