24 February 2020

Sanan Sjugirov Pursues the Leader at Aeroflot Open 2020

Six rounds are over.

The sixth round of the International chess festival Aeroflot Open 2020 was played in Moscow on February 24. 

In the main A tournament, Rauf Mamedov (Azerbaijan) made a draw with Manuel Petrosyan (Armenia) and keeps leading the pack with 5 points.

Sanan Sjugirov (Russia) defeated his compatriot Vadim Zvjaginsev and is pursuing the leader with 4.5 points scored together with Mustafa Yilmaz (Turkey) and Manuel Petrosyan. 

Tigran Harutyunian, Hovik Hayrapetyan (both from Armenia), Mahammad Muradli (Azerbaijan), and Nikita Afanasiev (Russia) are the leaders of the B tournament - each of them has scored 5 points. 

Erdenepurev Boldoo (Mongolia) has pulled ahead in the C tournament with 5.5 points. 

Tournament on Chess-Results

Tournament page

Official website

Photos by Boris Dolmatovsky